This poem is dedicated to a friend. It is not often we meet people who bring us closer to ourselves and make us realize that we lost innocence while we were busy growing up.

The realization made me yearn for past, for the times when we were keen on becoming, instead of rigidly being; times when the only wars were that of palate; times when every event was the shade of multicolors; times when we were ignorant about  the marathons of time; times when mathematics of reason could be won over by rhetoric of poesy; times when we chased dreams and dreams chased us; times when broken hearts could be mended with an innocent smile; times when we sincerely believed that heroes outlast witches and dragons; and all stories have a happy ending, if at all, stories end.

I live that life again in this poem with a hope that I live that life again, always. Thanks.

I wish I were a little girl again
waiting
to grow up
wear make up
drape Draupadi’s sari,
and become,
Become

I wish I were a little girl again
troubled
over ice cream
chocolate bars
lacy pink frocks
and stains
on them

I wish I were a little girl again
excited
about occasions
birthdays, meetings, departures
juggling
smiles and tears
like circus clowns
of our village

I wish I were a little girl again
running
away from teachers
evening vespers
the boy next bench
whose book
I lost

I wish I were a little girl again
Counting
birthday sweets
calendars
friends with whom
I broke up over
sharpened pencils

I wish I were a little girl again
dozing
off dreamlessly
over the morning bench
In the classroom
where
thoughts themselves
were sleeping pills

I wish I were a little girl again
hurt
Only With bruised knees
Cane marks
A casual hit
regular
Beating

I wish I were a little girl again
Writing
poems about
fairies, dwarfs, Prince Charming
And the Witch
slayed
at the end.

