I have noticed an increase in traffic to my blog recently. Much of the search engine traffic is directed here because of the quote by Umbertoumberto_eco_narrowweb__300x450,0 Eco that I have used as my blog title. I have always had the urge to provide the context of the quotation, which also adds to the reader’s appreciation of the text. So when i saw people driven to the blog for the quote without having the context, i found a reason to provide it. Here’s an excerpt from the interview where Eco talks of filling empty spaces, he further goes on to explain the idea. .

An Interview with Umberto Eco, by Mukund Padmanabhan, Sunday, Oct 23, 2005.
Source: The Hindu.

Umberto Eco…”I work in empty spaces”

Mukund: The English novelist and academic David Lodge once remarked: “I can’t understand how one man can do all the things he [Eco] does.”

Umberto Eco: Maybe I give the impression of doing many things. But in the end, I am convinced I am always doing the same thing.

Mukund: Which is?

Eco: Aah, now that is more difficult to explain. I have some philosophical interests and I pursue them through my academic work and my novels. Even my books for children are about non-violence and peace…you see, the same bunch of ethical, philosophical interests.

And then I have a secret. Did you know what will happen if you eliminate the empty spaces from the universe, eliminate the empty spaces in all the atoms? The universe will become as big as my fist.

Similarly, we have a lot of empty spaces in our lives. I call them interstices. Say you are coming over to my place. You are in an elevator and while you are coming up, I am waiting for you. This is an interstice, an empty space. I work in empty spaces. While waiting for your elevator to come up from the first to the third floor, I have already written an article! (Laughs).

Read the complete Interview here>>

Read my article on Filling Empty Spaces in your Life: A Secret to Success here>>

